Classification Of Fires – Types Of Fire Extinguishers – Steps To Use a DCP
  1. Fires are classified according to the type of fuel that is burning.
  2. If you use the wrong type of fire extinguisher on the wrong class of fire, you might make matters worse.
  3. It is very important to understand the four different fire (fuel) classification
Class A:
  • Wood
  • paper, cloth
  • trash
  • plastics—solids that are not metals
Class B:
  • Flammable liquids—gasoline
  • Oil
  • Grease
  • Aceton Includes flammable gases.
Class C:
  • Electrical—energized electrical equipment (as long as it’s “plugged in” or supply ON)
Class D:
  • Metals—potassium
  • Sodium
  • Aluminum
  • Magnesium
  • Requires Metal-X, foam, and other special extinguishing agents
Types Of Fire Extinguishers:

Different types of fire extinguishers are designed to fight different classes of fire

The are three most common types of fire extinguishers are:

  • Water (APW)
  • Carbon Dioxide (CO2
  • Dry Chemical (ABC, BC, DC)

Steps to Use a DCP Type Fire Extinguisher:

There are four important steps you must know to correctly use a fire extinguisher.The PASS method can help you to easily remember those steps.